Content starts here
CLOSE ×

Search

When will you collect Social Security?

Retired Community Manager

When will you collect Social Security?

Collecting before full retirement age? These individuals decided to start collecting Social Security at the age of 62. In the following video from AARP, hear what factors went into each person's decision making process (video: 2:38). When will you collect Social Security?

Contributor

I was a machinist for 34 years. I had to retire at 63 because of arthritus in my wrist. It worked out ok for us, because we had our house paid off. We both receive Social Security and I get a retirement check from the company I worked for. We worked hard and saved $120,000 in the bank plus $320,000 in my 401K. We moved to Arizona 7years ago and love our life here.   

0 Kudos
Periodic Contributor

I am now 67, and I plan on waiting until I am 70 for two reasons. My full retirement age is 66, but, I was screwed out of state of Ohio because the dept. was contracted out, so I, along with a few others missed out on 5 yrs of Public Employees Retirement System. I retired at age 61, so that I could earn more S.S. in the private sector. I figure with this plan, I should be okay once I hit 70. I need to move to a condo, sell my house, and travel.

0 Kudos
Honored Social Butterfly

@rlewis1951 wrote:

I am now 67, and I plan on waiting until I am 70 for two reasons. My full retirement age is 66, but, I was screwed out of state of Ohio because the dept. was contracted out, so I, along with a few others missed out on 5 yrs of Public Employees Retirement System. I retired at age 61, so that I could earn more S.S. in the private sector. I figure with this plan, I should be okay once I hit 70. I need to move to a condo, sell my house, and travel.

Will the Social Security Windfall Elimination Provision affect your benefit?

https://www.ssa.gov/planners/retire/wep-chart.html

It's Always Something . . . . Roseanna Roseannadanna
0 Kudos
Super Contributor