Is your 'stuff' stressing you out? TV personality Matt Paxton has tips for downsizing and decluttering in our free, two-part webinar! Register now.

Info Seeker
Kudos
Views

Re: When will you collect Social Security?

Message 1 of 53

I was a machinist for 34 years. I had to retire at 63 because of arthritus in my wrist. It worked out ok for us, because we had our house paid off. We both receive Social Security and I get a retirement check from the company I worked for. We worked hard and saved $120,000 in the bank plus $320,000 in my 401K. We moved to Arizona 7years ago and love our life here.   

Report Inappropriate Content
Kudos
Views
Info Seeker
Kudos
Views

Message 2 of 53
My opinion...just like something else....we all have one. :-) First and foremost, it depends on your personal situation.
The MONTHLY Social Security amount will most definitely grow...at a decent return of 8% a year...if you wait until your full retirement age (or even further if you delay until age 70). That is simple math.
There also is a crossover point that compares the TOTAL amount you are receive from Social Security if you take it early...lets say 62...versus someone who takes it at full retirement age...lets say age 66.
The person who takes it at age 62 has been collecting for 4 YEARS by the time the person who waited until age 66 BEGINS collecting. There is a chart on the Social Security webpage that shows your the crossover point (for me it is age 78). That is simple math.
Back to my first point. It is a personal decision. You may need the money so you take it early. You may want to do things before the "crossover point" so you take it early. You may not need the money so you take it late to get the 8% growth. You may have
longevity in your family so you take it later.
It's personal...

which if you take social security early
Kudos
Views
Valued Social Butterfly
Kudos
Views

Message 3 of 53

@rlewis1951 wrote: