Content starts here
CLOSE ×

Search

Periodic Contributor

Long Term Care Insurance

Hello,

I was looking into LTC insurance for myself and my husband and found it very expensive and I am unsure if we will be able to continue the premium payments into retirement, especially if the cost goes up. Does anyone have experience with Long Term Care Insurance and opinions on whether or not it is worth the cost?

thank you,

Nancy

0 Kudos

I have the same question as Nancy.  I have been paying for long term care for about 15 years.  My policy says it will pay for 6 weeks (+/-) of care.  What happens then?  My agent says that I will then get assistance from Medicaid.  I am not eligible for Medicaid because my net worth is too high.  So is it worth continuing to pay my Long term care premium?

0 Kudos
Social Butterfly

Another option a revocable or irrevocable trust avoids the probate process. Plus, you can avoid Medicaid estate recovery with a trust. You’ve worked hard your entire life wouldn’t you like to leave your heirs a little inheritance.

An irrevocable trust protects the assets of the trust creator, you, from creditors and lawsuits. That’s because the trust maker after 5 years will not own property in their name after the assets have been funded into the name of the trust.

You don’t have to have a million-dollar estate to have a trust. See an estate/elder law attorney. It’s not as expensive as you think.

0 Kudos
Bronze Conversationalist