Content starts here
CLOSE ×

Search

Social Security COLA Set at 1.3 Percent for 2021

Retired Community Manager

Social Security COLA Set at 1.3 Percent for 2021

The Social Security Administration (SSA) announced on Oct. 13 that its annual cost-of-living adjustment (COLA) will be 1.3 percent, an average boost to retirement benefits of about $20 per month for individuals starting in January. (Read article here...)

Do you feel that your Social Security benefits are keeping up with inflation?

Trusted Contributor

No and I see just in the generic grocery items I buy a increase of 10 to 20+ percent, some name brand items that I purchase have gone up more than 20% so I stopped buying only to see the price go back down as I take it many others did the same with they're purchases. 

The big increase and problem is with my barber that I have been using for 2 decades as the shop price has gone up well over 25% and the last time I went I heard the 'T' word way too many times.

The challenge today is learning to cut my own hair.

"Don't worry about the oil running out, worry about the food running out"
Professor Al Bartlett PhD (emeritus 1923-2013)
0 Kudos
Contributor

Whether the 1.3% COLA proves to be adequate depends upon the actions of the new administration and Congress making progress with relief from the high cost of prescription medications. People receiving Social Security payments are more likely to depend on prescription medications and if our leaders are unable or unwilling to address the rise in cost of these drugs then, NO, the 1.3% boost to SS checks will not be sufficient to keep many recipients from having less spendable income. 

0 Kudos

No.

0 Kudos
Contributor

No, I do not think so especially since the benefit barely covers the increase in the monthly deduction for Medicare Part B.

Trusted Contributor

@cv4770 wrote:

No, I do not think so especially since the benefit barely covers the increase in the monthly deduction for Medicare Part B.