Content starts here
CLOSE ×

Search

Retired Community Manager

What is your exercise of choice?

What is your preferred way to get exercise/move? How long have you been doing it?

Still looking for ideas on the right activity for you, or maybe a new activity? Check out our new guide on getting moving: https://www.aarp.org/health/healthy-living/info-2019/get-moving.html

Contributor

Yoga! It keeps me flexible and muscular while being meditational at the same time. Fifteen years at this point.

0 Kudos
Regular Contributor

Swimming is the best! It's like meditation! Totally zen like! I have been swimming for 63 years.

Regular Contributor

i ride a stationary bike almost daily for 30-60 minutes. Also Walk 30-40 min when weather permits, I listen to my recording of  the Women's Barbershop Chorus I belong to, learning new songs. 5 lbs of hand weights on each hand is my max so far, 40 reps for 4 different lifts.  Also have a short meditation time and some yoga moves each morning for about 15 mins. A hip replacement with nerve complications from surgery keep me from doing a strong yoga routine, as I did pre-surgery. I am 66. ๐Ÿ™‚ 

Contributor

Iโ€™ll be 72 yrs in September. My workout habits started in the gym back in the early 70โ€™s. Aerobic classes, Raquet ball, weight training. I played Womenโ€™s soccer til my mid 40โ€™s then coached my daughters soccer teams. Hiking/walking  every weekend. Last 15 years I attend a Cardio Pump class 3X per week and Pilates twice a week. 5 mile walks 3X per week.  Hope this inspires you all!

Yoga 3 times a week. I've been taking Yoga for 8 years. So good for my mental health and stress relief as well as balance, strength and flexibility.

Contributor