Content starts here
CLOSE ×

Search

AARP ASKING FOR OUR PHONE NUMBER WHEN SIGNING IN

Super Contributor

AARP ASKING FOR OUR PHONE NUMBER WHEN SIGNING IN

WHY IS AARP ASKING FOR OUR PHONE NUMBER WHEN WE SIGN IN? I HAVE BEEN AN AARP MEMBER FOR MANY YEARS NOW AND NEVER ASKED TO GIVE MY PHONE NUMBER WHICH I DID NOT GIVE. 

0 Kudos
Contributor

As a cyber security professional, I can assure you folks it will only be a matter of time before AARP announces "Oooops, sorry, our systems were hacked and all your personal information was stolen, including name, address, DOB, and guess what, your cell phone number".  C'mon AARP, you don't need our phone number.  Many sites authenticate to email.   But that's okay, we members with our lawyers will pounce on you when you get hacked.

Periodic Contributor

I agree 1,000%. They don't need our phone number, and neither do any non-financial websites. As a former software consultant, I would've advised against this method from the gate. I would've jumped up during the meeting and said, "Wait. This is ludicrous! Whose bright idea was this? Off with your head." ๐Ÿ˜‚

Contributor

Agree.  AARP MODERATORS, are you even reading this stuff?

Yes, two-factor authentication is a good idea.  Restricting 2FA to only text messages is REALLY CLUELESS; I may drop my membership if you go through with such an ignorant and user-hostile policy.

You have our emails, give us the option of receiving 2FA confirmation messages via that medium.  Most banking institutions I deal with (who are way higher-risk environments than AARP) provide that option, you need to pay attention to best practices.

Periodic Contributor