Content starts here
CLOSE ×

Search

Regular Contributor

Loneliness or alone-ness

Would love to hear others thoughts on this topic...

I work full time as a nurse so I have a lot of social interaction there, but am not socially active with co-workers as very few are: 1. single and 2. over 50.  I live out in the country, alone. I do not have children.    And do many activities alone such as hiking, riding my motorcycle, camping. 

I do not feel lonely,  but I worry that I am isolating myself and may regret not being more social as I age.  Particularly after I retire ( still 9 years away).I do have a few friends, but they don't live particularly close by, and I do make sure to get out with them 2 or 3 times a month.  I am not religious and joining a church isn't an option for me. 

What are you other single folks doing?  Give me some advice!  Thanks.

Jypsy Janet

Jypsy Janet
Trusted Social Butterfly

Look to what you like to do and seek out others who do the same be it a motorcycle club, outdoor camping group like an adventure group. You may have to search in your area but doing what you like to do with others will open new vistas for you...

Contributor

I've gotten through my loneliness by walking my dog early mornings and talking with God during my walks.  I have also been playing bingo the 2nd Sunday of every month at my local fire company. Everyone at bingo including the fire company members are very friendly.  I don't feel lonely when I'm there.

Regular Contributor

My take on this: