Content starts here
CLOSE ×

Search

Roth IRA versus Traditional IRA – begin withdrawl with WHICH IRA?

Roth IRA versus Traditional IRA – begin withdrawl with WHICH IRA?

MY QUESTION: >>> Should I begin to draw down the ROTH IRA first UNTIL I reach the AGE of 70 1/2 and then begin my required minimum distributions from the TRADITIONAL IRA?

I recently retired (Age 64) and have begun to receive Social Security Benefits in 2021

I have BOTH a Roth IRA and a Traditional IRA

Both Accounts have nearly identical balances – and will last my lifetime – based on a 4% annual withdrawal.

I am a RESIDENT of Rhode Island

I understand that my withdrawals from the Roth are "not taxed as income" – but my Traditional IRA would be taxed.

I need to CHOOSE one or the other (ROTH versus Traditional IRA) to withdraw from beginning this year to supplement my SSN income.

I understand I must take out my first required minimum distribution by April 1 of the year after you turn 70.5.

MY QUESTION: >>> Should I begin to draw down the ROTH IRA first UNTIL I reach the AGE of 70 1/2 and then begin my required minimum distributions from the TRADITIONAL IRA?

This would allow Traditional IRA account to GROW tax-free…

AND I would NOT pay taxes on the ROTH distributions…

I want to maximize and increase the value of my retirement accounts and minimize taxes at both the state and federal levels.

IS this the best strategy? Or, am I missing something here? 

Thanks in advance! 

0 Kudos
Bronze Conversationalist

@chipleak