Content starts here
CLOSE ×

Search

A new way employers can determine your age on job sites

Periodic Contributor

A new way employers can determine your age on job sites

This is actually pretty clever.  You don't have to give your age, but you DO have to record that date you graduated from college.  It helps employers legally skirt the age issue because they are not asking for your birthdate, but they are getting the info another way.

Should AARP champion the removal of this requirement?

Jeff Johnson

Hello Jeffrey,

I am a Professional Recruiter with 40+ years of recruiting experience. If you search for "Talent Attraction Consultant" on Bing or Google, I am the #1 organic result of over 3,000,000 results.

Oh, I am 73 and still having fun Recruiting and Career Coaching (3 published Career Search books).

My Disrupt HR speech is "Delete Recruiting From HR". Believe it or not, some companies are leaning that direction. My most recent 5 STAR reviewed book is "EXPECT SUCCESS! The Science Of The Over 50 Career Search".

May I humbly suggest that you do the same? Delete Your Job Search from HR. They are an important organization within a company - Benefits, Compensation, Culture, Employee Development, Employee Relations, HR Technology, etc. Did you notice that ALL of those functions are either Administrative or Compliance functions? When was the 1st time that you Ever saw a Compliance Officer lead any company in Sales? Short answer - Never.

Recruiting mirrors the SALES Process line by line perfectly through Employee Retention. My suggestion is to reorganize Recruiting into Operations - where they are feeling the pain.

As someone else mentioned, Managers are most interested in finding the talent to do their jobs.