Content starts here
CLOSE ×

Search

Have suggestions to find the right therapist?

Community Manager
Community Manager

Have suggestions to find the right therapist?

When life takes a challenging turn, it can be hard to take things in stride. Perhaps you're feeling persistently irritable (a frequent sign of depression) or experiencing the stress that often comes from caring for an elderly parent. Maybe your marriage is in a rut or you're grappling with a major life change, such as adjusting to retirement or an empty nest.

If you're feeling depressed, anxious, worried, or out of sorts, and it's taking a toll on your life, it may be time to turn to therapy to cope.

Here are great suggestions to help you find the right therapist.

Do you see a therapist? How has it helped you?

Contributor

I am a therapist, and I also see an IFS therapist.  I've become a fan of IFS  (Internal Family Systems), which can be used both in therapy, and as an approach to handling one's own mind (and other people's) in day to day life.   I find that it helps with self-acceptance, with increasing resilience, and with healing the 'old stuff' that can still rise up out of the psychic 'crypt' and take over some time.        Getting support is especially important for caregivers of any kind (whether as a parent, an eldercaregiver, or a professional).  And I am finally learning not to wait til things feel awful; why not do preventive work, and reach out BEFORE things have a chance to go bad?     FYI,  I am one of the therapists at CVS Minuteclinic, available in many states and in-network for Medicare.   They hire good people, so if you are looking for a therapist, go to the website and check it out, you can even self-schedule.   

0 Kudos
Contributor