Content starts here
CLOSE ×

Search

Contributor

Entry- Level Job at 60?

Hi, 

I'm a 60-year-old woman looking for a position related to my interest in PR and Social Media, in which I have some experience. I've found a virtual position listed at a PR and Social Media marketing firm in need of a PR Assistant (not on the AARP job board). It appears to be entry-level with one line in the description stating that it's great for building connections, reputation, etc.

It sounds like the modern version of a PR job I had right out of college that involved researching where to get the word out about our project. 

My background is similar enough and they are offering training and don't mind if the applicant's experience is not exact. I could do this job but I'm 60, not 22.

Is it even worth applying for this position? Do you think they'd consider an older worker? If I did should I mention up front that I'm older or wait until they get to the bottom of my functional resume and the year I graduated college? Should I ask in my cover letter email if they'd consider the position to be a "Returnship?"

Are there any Career Coaches or current or former Human Relations people on this forum who might be able to weigh in?

Thanks!

0 Kudos

Hello JT,

I have written 3 career search books. More importantly, I am the Google Ranked #1 "Talent Attraction Consultant". My career advice is based on my 40+ years of Professional, not HR, Recruiting.

Not everyone will agree with my advice. However, it comes from working with over 1,000 hiring managers, several thousand candidates, and since 1981, I have read over 400,000 resumes.

Put yourself in a Hiring Manager's shoes. A candidate, that you invite for an interview based on the 10 - 15 years of experience shown on their resume, appears for an interview. You are expecting to see a 36 to 41 year old. The person you greet is obviously much older. What is your level of comfort with the veracity of their interview responses?