Content starts here
CLOSE ×

Search

Clarity on working after applying for social security

Regular Contributor

Clarity on working after applying for social security

I get conflicting answers whenever I contact SS on most anything.    I turn 62 in mid September.    I have decided for my situation based on family medical history it is best to file early at 62.   I work as a consultant from time to time.   

As I read the rules  I must be 62 for an entire month before the first check would arrive.    This means SS does not start paying in my case until November.      I have the opportunity to work all of September and 1/2 of October.    Total earnings perhaps $20K  .   There have been no other earnings in 2019 so I'm not close to any earning thresholds to my knowledge.   

If this is addressed on the SS web site I can not seem to find it. 

What is the rule?   

I can not earn any wages at all in my filing month regardless of birthdate? 

I can earn wages up to September 15th when I officialy hit 62?     

I can earn wages all of September but must not earn more then $1470 a month afterwards? 

I can earn wages in September and October for a full month in excess of the $1470 cap as I have not been officially paid.  

0 Kudos
Honored Social Butterfly

This Social Security publication should answer your questions and it gives some examples.  Being under FRA, the annualized earnings might be a better measure than figuring it on a monthly basis, especially since your earnings don't sound like they are a set amount on a monthly basis.  It also sounds like the earnings would be reported as 1099 earnings rather than W2 earning.

If you make 20K anytime during 2019, this figure is higher than the annualized threshold and your benefits will be reduced since you are less than FRA.

Social Security.gov - 2019 Working While Receiving Old Age SS Benefits