Content starts here
CLOSE ×

Search

LIFE INSURANCE MIS - INFORMATION

I Have been paying on my insurance acquired through AARP for the last 14 years. Handled ultimately by N.Y. Life. I retired July 2021 and in July 2022 I was notified that my rate would increase by $41.00 per month for the next 5 years. It would increase again in another 5 years. Let's remember that retired means fixed income. The notification letter states that you can change to a permanent plan which will prevent further rate increases. I expected that to mean my rate would be the same. Nope. I called NY Life and was hit with the bait and switch information. In order to have a fixed rate I would have to pay over $300 / month! That would be a 300% increase in monthly payments! Being irate and appalled I requested to cash the policy out and go somewhere else. Low and behold the policy I have been paying into, recommended by AARP,  is one that does not gain portfolio value. Read: NO CASH OUT VALUE! In order to benefit from this insurance I have to die and in the mean time keep paying higher rates every 5 yrs while on a fixed income. I am angry beyond belief that a group, whose sole function is to protect seniors, would perpetrate this falsehood for NY Life's growth. Thanks for nothing AARP!

Contributor

You are putting the blame on the wrong people.  You should look into a mirror in order to see whom to blame.  You bought a "term" policy 14 years ago and if you had taken the time to read what you were getting you would understand that your premium was going to increase over time.  They give simple explanations of what you can get via their program.  I had no problem at all understanding the difference between what they meant by "term" vs. "whole life".  The significant difference in monthly and annual premiums should have given you a hint.  

Honored Social Butterfly

@mq4475 wrote: