Content starts here
CLOSE ×

Search

Call or Click at your own risk!

I am a licensed insurance agent in multiple states and have been since the early 90s. Sadly, the last few years of social media and TV advertising lowered our industry standards. The previous oversight in the Medicare sector keeping my lesser peers in check, was all but discarded during the last administration, and abusing the Covid-necessary remote signature options implemented.

I am 65 and receive the same mix of calls, emails, and USPS solicitations daily. My callers, ignore my DO NOT CALL list entries, on my home, fax, or business lines โ€“ when asked, some even admit their organization doesnโ€™t check the list. I received a call the other day violating Medicareโ€™s Marketing Guidelines when they started talking immediately about Medicare Advantage plans in my area โ€“ but didnโ€™t know what state they had called. I decided to play along.

The 1st Talker verified my โ€œfalse name,โ€ โ€œfake date of birth,โ€ and current zip code. Before the hand off, I asked Talker 1 what company he represented, how was his weather? His company, โ€œScam One,โ€ interestingly not the "State of Maine" showing on my Caller ID. Although, his local weather report identified another State about 1000 miles away.