Content starts here
CLOSE ×

Search

Periodic Contributor

Spanish language programs

I want to learn Spanish.  There are too many options advertised and across a wide price range.  Wondering if any members have a experience (positive or negative) with any particular tool or method.  Any advise would be appreciated.

Regular Contributor

Hi Jeffrey,

I am a semi-retired Spanish teacher.  I still giving tutorials for Lessons.com and Varsity.com

A self-instruction would be Duolingo.  It has a lot of materials and levels. 

Also, you can contact a private tutor and make a suitable arrangement for classes online.

Another option would be the Senior Community Centers, most of the time they offer free classes.

Best luck.

Beatriz Cortes
Anonymous
Not applicable

April 16, 2021

Hi @JeffreyB901948 Do you want the FREE ones or the ones you pay for? Angela

Kudos
Views
Periodic Contributor

And, I am wondering how you could tell I am a "Newbie?"  I don't see a flag or identifier on either my name or yours.

Periodic Contributor

Angela, cost is certainly a factor, but number 1 consideration would be "probability of success."  I want a program that has a good track record.  It's hard to tell from all the advertising literature ... it's the ad writers job to make what they are selling sound good.

I assume from your title, "Bronze Conversationalist" you are in the language business?  What is your experience?

Thanks for the reply.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi @JeffreyB901948 I am just like you and RE-LEARNING Spanish at age 63. I did Spanish and French in High School but didnot continue. I am cheap and other than BUYING some books, CDs, flashcards - I use YouTube. My challenge is CONVERSATIONAL. They talk so FAST, they lose me/lol. If you are AGE 60+, you can attend any Spanish Courses for FREE at your local STATE college/university. They offer both online and on campus.

Contributor