Content starts here
CLOSE ×

Search

Periodic Contributor

LOSS OF A FRIEND

I'm new to this message board, so I'm not sure how it works.  But I had a sad experience with a friend the other day, and would like to share.

Phyllis and I are in our early-eighties, and have been great friends since our teens.  She's dealing with dementia now, but has some "good" days.  On our last visit, things went well for about a half hour.  She knew me, and we were having a good conversation.  

Then, she asked me where I lived.  That wasn't alarming, sometimes things like that slip your mind.  But when I gave her the name of my town, she told me she used to have a friend who lived in that town.  She asked me my name.  I told her, and she said, "What a coincidence.  That's the same name as my friend."  She didn't know me anymore.  

She went on to tell me about her friend, how much she loved her, and what a great friendship it had been.  Then she wanted to know, since I lived in the same town as her friend, did I know her.  I told her I didn't.  She said, "That's too bad.  You would like her."

When I left, there was no hug, or "Can't wait to see you again."  Because in her mind by the end of the visit, I was just some person who had stopped in to chat.   She said, "Goodbye."  I said, "Do you want to walk out with me?"  She said, "No.  Just close the door when you leave."  

I knew Phyllis had these lapses.  Her daughter had told me.  But this was my first first-hand experience.  It saddened me terribly, and the cold goodbye chilled my soul.  But her loving description of our friendship will stay with me forever.  Thank you, Phyllis.  I loved you, too.

AARP Expert