Are you as smart as a high-tech car? Take this quiz and test your knowledge.
Frequent Social Butterfly
Kudos
Views

Re: TOP 10 REASONS TO START WALKING TODAY

Message 11 of 16

I've been running for 37 years but now I do a combination walk-run with my husband (who's been running for over 40 years).  We live in a rural area with no sidewalks and few homes.  We alternate three different routes.  Before leaving the house my husband stuffs his pockets with plastic grocery bags.  Then the run-walk-recyclables pick-up fun begins.  While on our 'journey' we pick up recyclable cans, and plastic and glass bottles from the sides of the road, often adding a climb up an embankment or into a field to get what some environmentally negligent people have tossed out their car/truck window.  Our usual routes are about 2 miles (more or less).  We get our exercise (running, walking, bending to pick up recyclables, and climbing), and help the environment at the same time.  Oh, and he's in his late 70s and on my next birthday I'll be 80.  We have no plans to stop our exercise.

Report Inappropriate Content
Kudos
Views
Info Seeker
Kudos
Views

Message 12 of 16