Content starts here
CLOSE ×

Search

Getting a bathroom ready for caregiving. Do this first!!

Contributor

Getting a bathroom ready for caregiving. Do this first!!

Hello Again,

I am a nurse, as well as Mom and caregiver to both of my elderly parents.  What I learned right away and have to keep remembering is to NOT start hammering and drilling immediately.  Do not decide where a grab bar needs to go until you have the "patient" in your home.  Each person has different strenghts, weaknesses and habits.  Not to mention height and weight.  These things also change as we age.

Do have commodes, shower chairs and safety items in place of course.  But do not make any permanent decisions.  I actually told my husband that we should put paint on my Dad's hands so we could see everywhere he grabbed naturally.  We used pencils, markers and observation.  The Moen brand suction bars worked great at my home but not on the tile at my parents previous home.  The great thing about these is you can put them where the person naturally reaches on the their own versus yelling " no, grab here". Plus if you do end up putting in more permanent fixtures, you can be fairly sure you picked a good spot.

Keep in mind that needs change.  A minor injury can change ones needs quickly.  After a fairly minor knee injury my father needed a lift cushion on his chair and would have needed the toilet seat raised for one week if we were not able to assist him.

Last night, my husband and I were both in the downstairs bathroom assessing the options and re-applying the suction grab bars. After we had things in place, we brought Dad in (fully clothed) to walk through the steps of getting in the shower, seated and back up.  Guess what? We had to tweak a few things!  This is normal. Although Dominic safely applies each bar and hangs his full weight on it, my father may find a way to make it fail. Or what we thought was a good spot for a grab bar, did not work for my father.