Content starts here
CLOSE ×

Search

Contributor

Alzheimer's widow

My wife was diagnosed with Early onset Alzheimers 5 years ago.  I was a 24/7  caretaker for 5 years.  She is now mid to late stage 6.  She went into a memory care facility 2 weeks ago. She no longer knows who I am to her.   I feel like the character from Shawshank Redemption who has no idea how to make it on the outside.  Everyone tells me I need to make a life , but `how do you restart a life?  I am a retired sucesssful professional.  No finanical worries.  If it wasn't for my children and grand children I could live anywhere in the world.  Just wondered how people do this.  

AARP Expert

@HappyEmeritus wrote:

My wife was diagnosed with Early onset Alzheimers 5 years ago.  I was a 24/7  caretaker for 5 years.  She is now mid to late stage 6.  She went into a memory care facility 2 weeks ago. She no longer knows who I am to her.   I feel like the character from Shawshank Redemption who has no idea how to make it on the outside.  Everyone tells me I need to make a life , but `how do you restart a life?  I am a retired sucesssful professional.  No finanical worries.  If it wasn't for my children and grand children I could live anywhere in the world.  Just wondered how people do this.  

Hey there,

It's only been a couple of weeks, or by now, a month. And you've just survived Thanksgiving. I trust your children and grands welcomed you by yourself for Thanksgiving. That must have been tough, and maybe a little bit wonderful.

You've received awesome advice, and here's some more. Reach out to old friends whom you haven't had time for in the past 5 years. Go to a movie, sign up for a Western Swing Dance class. Keep thinking of things you might like to do, make a list, try to do one a week. Any old hobbies you've neglected? Anything you want to do that you've always wanted to do? The proverbial bucket list?