Content starts here
CLOSE ×

Search

Consumer Cellular - Savings at a Cost

Periodic Contributor

Consumer Cellular - Savings at a Cost

I am new to AARP but feel I need to make this post today as a warning to those that believe the hype around the apparent endorsement of AARP for the Consumer Cellular phone service.

Recently signed up for Consumer Cellular and addionally AARP for the apparent savings for my wife and myself on phone service. Here is what I have encountered over the last 3 days of trying vainly to get connected:

My experience has proved so far, that "Consumer Cellular" stands for CONSUMER of my valuable time waiting to get connected to CELLULAR service that is still non-existent!

We received our SIM cards 3 days ago for our new unlocked phones (purchased directly from the maker, to allow for the flexibility to move to whatever provider we wanted.) Since then I have made multiple calls to CC to get the SIMs activated with our old numbers intact. I have tried waiting on hold for over an hour with no response; waiting for an automated call-back (which is supposed to maintain my place in the queue) for 2 days; and scheduling a call-back for 9:00 AM this morning that never materialized; all to no avail. Somehow after waiting over 2 hours after the "scheduled" call, I was able to reach someone trying one of three different numbers all seemingly linked to the same system. I spent an hour with that person who was unable to port our numbers over from our previous provider and had me contacting that provider on another line for assistance, still without success.