Content starts here
CLOSE ×

Search

Assistance navigating disability and help in general for condition.

Contributor

Assistance navigating disability and help in general for condition.

Hello to anyone who may read this, 

My brief story and question at end: 

I am only 51 years old, I have a condition that is limiting me to work as a vascular sonographer in a hospital that I have been working for almost 30 years. I am becoming disabled through repetitive motion and currently I am in continual pain to neck, shoulders and all joints in the upper body since JAN 2022. I have two small children, wife and a home, so I am blessed. Unfortunately I am becoming more limited daily and with working as a vascular sonographer, I am worsening my condition without a doubt because it is a measured effect. While I was also diagnosed with cervical disc herniation JAN 2022, no providers are willing to indicate that the disc is the cause, for which it might not be, but none the less, I am not doing well physically and now it is progressing mentally since. I have seen (2) orthopedic surgeons, (2) pain management physicians (no drugs ever!), PCP, Physiatrists and have completed physician therapy and all feel as if they do not know what is wrong, and it is most likely repetitive injury, and believe it or not, I have been told "hope for the best" by neurology. What have we become? One physician diagnosed me with "myofascial pain syndrome" which upon researching, has no definitive outcome or foundation of mechanics. All the muscle relaxers, gabapentin etc prescribed make me too drowsy and unwell, so I stick to Ibuprofen and Aleve.