Content starts here
CLOSE ×

Search

Contributor

2022 Benefit Amount

I'm new at this. Turned 70 late last year, still working full time. No Medicare (have employer benefits). I did my homework beforehand, calculated what my benefit should be, and came up with the same number that SSA did. When they announced the 2022 benefit, I recalculated and again came up with the same number they did. I received a small deposit from SSA a week ago, which appears to be a catch-up payment for February and March because my monthly payments are still based on my 2021 figure. But the monthly benefit is now greater than the 2022 benefit I originally calculated (and SSA also calculated) late last year). With a lot of googling, I have seen references on the SSA site and other sites, to an additional increase for 2022. Lots of references to "Up to $200." But nothing explains how or why this increase happened or how to calculate the new amount. Using what information I do have, I suspect I am not being paid enough. I don't want to call SSA just yet, because I can't point to any SSA document that gives the exact numbers and formulas. Also, I have a hard time believing that they miscalculated only my benefits. If there is an error, it must be affecting thousands of people, and I would expect someone must have brought it to their attention.

I've read that when there are unscheduled changes to benefits, it sometimes takes SSA a few weeks to put out information about the change, even after they have sent out the additional payments. Since I'm working full (very full) time, I don't have time to visit an office or spend hours on hold on the phone. So for now, I'm turning to the wisdom of this community. Should I wait a while for more information or a correction, or should I contact them now?

0 Kudos
Conversationalist