Take a look at how people age around the world with this AARP special report: A New Age.

Bronze Conversationalist
Kudos
Views

Re: Retirement Musings - Destination Unspecified

Message 21 of 39

I thought I’d like to work part time, but I don’t want anyone telling me I’m late.  I don’t set alarm clocks anymore. 

Report Inappropriate Content
Kudos
Views
Conversationalist
Kudos
Views

Message 22 of 39

Hello Baby Boomers,

I've been retired since 2009 and have loved every minute of it. Of course, there were tough times, but with prayer, I've been able to enjoy my retirement.

I was a corporate Travel Agent for over twenty-five years and dealt with many nationalities, personalities from all over the world. However, form me the people I had the most issues with were my co-workers. When you're dealing with micromanagement, office gossip, and backstabbers and you're only going to work to pay your bills, no longer can handle the people or stress before you snap. It's time to get away from those people.

Being a baby boomer allowed me to take early retirement with social security disability I took it, and have not been happier.

I'm truly sorry for the ones that are having a hard time and not enjoying your retirement. Hang in there, keep praying it will get better.

Kudos
Views
Conversationalist
Kudos
Views

Message 23 of 39

Retired about 7 years ago. I thought retirement would be wonderful and i would do all the things I didn't have time for when working.  I was looking forward to doing volunteer work -  which I do and enjoy it.  

Retirement has its ups and downs.  You have to keep busy and feel worthwhile.  I love my grandkids and help out when I can.  I still feel a need to make extra money for myself.  Yet, when I took a seasonal part time job in a department store, I found that I couldn't stand for more than 4 hours without my feet hurting.  It was very different from my sit down job.