Content starts here
CLOSE ×

Search

Posts, Articles, Advertising in ALL CAPS

Gold Conversationalist

Posts, Articles, Advertising in ALL CAPS

I've been surfing around this morning, reading AARP forums, news, etc, then started looking at Zillow.

I was reading a DESCRIPTION OF A HOUSE FOR SALE and found my that internal voice STARTED TALKING IN A LOUDER EMPHATIC VOICE. 

I do tend to do this. I don't know why. But it was annoying to me because this description was very long. I don't know why people, business people, put ads and product descriptions in such typography. I remember the books that I learned to read with, all about Dick, his sisters Jane and Sally, and their pets Spot and Puff. Man, those were large print books (like those now for seniors) but even they didn't resort to all cap's.

I've been using the internet since around 1995 and CompuServe forums before that. Using many forms of media and communication, even various social media, over that time. The one common rule was no posting in all caps, it was considered rude. (well, there were other rules. like don't be a troll.)

I get that some people are not accustomed to public "speaking" (in writing) and may think that using "all caps" gives their words more import and weighty seriousness. Generally I just view them as clueless. And from the words they write I often do feel some sympathy for them (especially here in the AARP forums) as they often seem to be unsophisticated, vulnerable people needing a lot of assistance. Other times, people are just being blowhards.

There is the issue of visual acuity and device display. Perhaps all caps is more readable by those with issues like macular degeneration or just fading eyesight.