Content starts here
CLOSE ×

Search

Where do I go from here?

My husband has CHF. He has mobility issues as a result. I am a teacher and a graduate student. 

We need in-home help, but insurance won't pay for it and there's just not enough money in the budget.

My husband is not supposed to drive, and we could use some light housekeeping. My husband would love to have a little company during the day when I am at work.

I have looked at various programs and nothing works for us. Either our needs don't qualify or my husband is too well (Seriously!) to qualify. 

Any thoughts? Nuggets of wisdom?

0 Kudos
AARP Expert

@CaroGeraci wrote:

My husband has CHF. He has mobility issues as a result. I am a teacher and a graduate student. 

We need in-home help, but insurance won't pay for it and there's just not enough money in the budget.

My husband is not supposed to drive, and we could use some light housekeeping. My husband would love to have a little company during the day when I am at work.

I have looked at various programs and nothing works for us. Either our needs don't qualify or my husband is too well (Seriously!) to qualify. 

Any thoughts? Nuggets of wisdom?

Hi CaroGeraci,

Between a rock and a hard place, sounds like. There are some options but you really have to dig for them. I used to be a geriatric care manager and we had to solve puzzles like this all day. 

So he has Congestive Heart Failure? Is he on oxygen? Does he use a walker? Can he bathe himself? I'm wondering how much physical hands on help he needs. Is he steady or does he fall sometimes?