Content starts here
CLOSE ×

Search

Periodic Contributor

Re: Is anyone taking care of a spouse?

Hi

I am new to this sight. I have been caregiver to my husband for the last three years and recently had to quit my job and become a full-time caregiver because he can't be alone anymore. He has dementia and Parkinson's and gets lost in our home.It has been a big adjustment because my husband gets so confused with everything and I have to take care of absolutely everything. I feel alone most of the time even though he is here. Unless you are in this situation no-one else understands. Talking with other caregivers is important because we understand the hi's and lo's of our days.

Good Luck and God Bless each of you!

Mary

I also am new here. My husband has just recently been diagnosed with Dementia. It is progressing so fast. Also we lost our oldest daughter in July from cancer. I am so overwhelmed 

0 Kudos
AARP Expert

I am so sorry. That's a lot of sadness, serious anguish, in one year. Goodness. I hope you are aware of the AARP Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/groups/1353173708169053.  There is an immense amount of both practical and emotional advice for caregivers on there, and quick response times. 

I hope that you have a circle of friends, and family, that help you feel less alone. It is crushingly painful to lose a child as you well know. And then to have your husband declining cognitively, too, within months of that momentous loss, is a lot. You probably already know, but, many hospices have bereavement support groups, and some may be on zoom. Even if you didn't use a home hospice program for your daughter. Grief is boundless. But one learns to live around the edges of it.

How are you taking care of yourself? This caregiving business, plus the grief business, is a marathon not a sprint.

Thank you for sharing your situation. Write more?

With a virtual hug,

Jane

Kudos
Views
0 Kudos
Silver Conversationalist