Content starts here
CLOSE ×

Search

Desprately seeking a support Group in my area

Contributor

Desprately seeking a support Group in my area

Hello, this is my first time on the fourm. I apologized in advance for length of my post.I simply am at my witts end. I am single and only child of deaf parent(s) I feel like I've been the adult since I was 6 yrs old. Only when my parents moved out of state did I have my own life.

I have been caring for my parents long distance for about 5 years,  moved to Arizona to be near my parents to help my mother with my dad who was diagnosed with vascular demntia/alzheimers 2 yrs. ago. Refusing any help I moved back to Texas to resume my life offering to move them to Texas with me when they were ready.  By the time I got them here dad was on hospice (dementia/alzheimers) He was with us for 3 months then passed  1 year ago. It was a very hard and difficult journey but I am thanful he was at home with mom & I where he wanted to be when he passed.

I am now my mother's caregiver. She is and has been my entire life very dependent and bitter because of her deafness. She makes demands and wont let up until she gets what she wants. She picks fights with me over things I have no control over and I have bent over backwards, spent my entire savings/retirement to care for her and dad. She is miserable every minute of the day, refusing to go to church with me (where they have a deaf ministry), or plug into a deaf communitty coffee group I found. She complians about every interpreter, making me feel guilty for not taking off work for every doctors appointment she has(which is ALOT) She is healthy but wants to be sick, (has been her attention seeking method my entire life) 

My health is detorating, my complex migrains are back after 8 years of being migraine free