Content starts here
CLOSE ×

Search

Expat trying to decide whether to quit Medicare part B and what the long term consequences are

Periodic Contributor

Expat trying to decide whether to quit Medicare part B and what the long term consequences are

I'm 67 years old and joined Medicare parts A and B when I become eligible at 65. I'm also an expat living more than 40 years in Japan, and plan on living here the rest of my life. I signed up because I read about late penalties and I thought maybe Medicare could be used as health insurance during trips to the U.S.

But reading these details in AARP articles makes me think that Medicare is crazy complicated and not worth it. If I got stuck in the U.S. I could use a tiny fraction of my premiums to flee back to Japan, where I'm a permanent resident, and where there are no donut holes, and there are definitely caps on co-payments!

If I leave part B, does part A, which is free, have any value?

If I decide to join part B again for some reason I know there is some penalty to catch up on unpaid months, but will they take into account the nearly 3 years I've paid my premium?

With my national health insurance here - and my premiums being about what I'm also paying for Medicare, I'm feeling like maybe it's just not worth keeping it. For like one-half of one-month's premium I can get trip insurance for visits to the U.S.

Any other expats here? What do you do?

And if I quit Medicare part B it won't affect my Social Security benefits which I'm eligible for and plan to start taking when I turn 70, right?

Thanks.

Kudos
Views
Replies
Info Seeker