AARP Members Enjoy Exclusive Discounts on Travel, Dining and More. Join Today

Info Seeker

Re: Have you ever wanted to start your own business or be your own boss?

Message 1 of 23 (283 Views)

Hello Info Seeker,

I too am a nure of 44 yrs and I have also advocated and cared for family. Two of my 4 children had extremely rare disorder since birth and I also advocated for my Mom and my Dad who lived to 5 weeks shy of 97 yo. As a nurse, I learned very young with my 1st son that I had to advocate for him to feel he was recieving the best care available and also to be true to myself by asking as many questions to as many healthcare proffessionals as I needed to to find the answer that made sense to me and gave me comfort in knowing anad felling confident with the decisions I had to make in his behalf to ensure he was getting the best care possible. I also learned to never undersestimate a mother's instincts even when all are saying "we can't find anything wrong".

As much as I love my career in nursing and working in the health field in many capacities, I am burnt out. This is not due to patients, but because of the changes within the healthcare system throughout my involved years. This encompasses the insurance companies, regulatory agencies billing, documentation etc, etc.

I commend you for your direction to reach out and care for people from a different perspective. I have also been thinking of this as well and have no idea where to start. My main concern would be the legal aspect but beyond that, I would be ready to go forth. I find this a service which is so despertately needed and for me would be so rewarding to be an advocate for persons and families in need.

My best to you in your quest to honor your dream and if you choose to stay in touch and bounce ideas off each other, I am certainly willing.          

My best,

Another Nurse Smiley Happy 

Conversationalist

Message 2 of 23 (357 Views)