Prevention is the best medicine when it comes to avoiding surprise medical bills! Learn more.

Highlighted
Valued Social Butterfly
Kudos
Views

Re: FEEL-GOOD ENCOUNTERS WITH STRANGERS

Message 1 of 5

FEEL-GOOD ENCOUNTERS WITH STRANGERS (5)

A Remarkable Coincidence      

Last week, after leaving the fitness center and then waiting for a traffic light to change, I noticed a well-groomed woman next to me about my age. She turned to me and pleasantly proclaimed “aloha Friday.” A bit taken aback, I tentatively reciprocated the greeting. Undaunted by my lukewarm response, the woman told me that she was staying on Oahu for a couple of months and that she was visiting from Winthrop, Massachusetts. Wow! I then chimed in that I was raised in Revere, a town a mile away from hers. She got real animated, evidently delighted in the coincidence, and asked me if I was a full-time resident of Honolulu. I told her that my wife and I (I made sure to mention my wife) stayed here for at least six months a year in our newly purchased condo. The woman looked at me warmly and replied that she would be thrilled to live in “paradise” for that long.

When the light turned green, she said goodbye, waved, and walked away from me after we crossed the street. I stayed at the corner bus stop, buoyed by my brief encounter with such an upbeat stranger.

Agog at the Synagogue

Almost invariably in Israel, it is the easily recognizable ultra-orthodox men in black who stroll the baby carriages while the women walk beside them. But men don’t have to wear the garb of the Hasidim to be in charge of the baby carriage—as I delightfully found out at religious services last night at the Jerusalem Great Synagogue.