Take a look at aging around the world in 'A New Age,' a special report by AARP and Magnum Photos.

Conversationalist
Kudos
Views

Re: Any other authors here?

Message 1 of 45

Hello Ed and welcome.

Always good to hear there is another editor out there! I expect you will be getting some private messages about rates and schedules. Smiley Wink

I get enough stress and deadlines in my software life but to each there own.

Cutting is one of the things I hate. Had to do it with the current book to get it under 650 pages. More than that and it just wasn't feasable to use Barnes & Noble's new POD service. Had to go with full color interior because of all the pictures.

Report Inappropriate Content
Kudos
Views
Bronze Conversationalist
Kudos
Views

Message 2 of 45

Good morning to all-

Although I have published four books- both old-fashioned paper and print and ebooks, most of my work is done in the magazine field.

I am an outdoor writer- I tend to specialize in boating and fishing topics, and making money from selling books on fishing in particular is tough.  I guess it's just a very small market- people who love to fish and who can also read.

But I enjoy working with the few ourdoor magazines that are left;however, there aren't many.

I find that I enjoy the constant pressure of magazine writing deadlines and the fact that most magazine articles are 2000 words or less- forces me to cut and cut and prune what I write- which is almost always a great improvement.

I'm a retired english teacher, and I really do enjoy editing my work- and I've done a good bit of formal editing work on various magazines, too.

Good to meet all of you here.

Ed

Kudos
Views
Conversationalist
Kudos
Views

Message 3 of 45

@DoctorMichael wrote:

Did you find a good editor?