Content starts here
CLOSE ×

Search

work after retirement - as a freelance writer

Periodic Contributor

work after retirement - as a freelance writer

Hi everyone, I'm about to chuck my 'day job' (at age 65, almost 66) and try to make a decent income with freelance writing, which I've been doing in spare time for over 10 years with minimal pay but great enjoyment. Hoping to make some contacts through just putting myself out there in the wide world of AARP, also have a NAIWE site where I'm going to post some of my published work. 

Hi, my name is William E. Lewis and am interested iin n the Freelance Writing.

My credential are as follows:

Wrote 7 books

MS, Operations Reserch

BA, Mathematics

Retired from IBM & Ernst & Young

Super Contributor

Good morning to all-

I have been a freelance writer for the past 20 years- part-time before I retired from a public school teaching gig- and now more or less full-time.  It's hard to put an accuate estimate of part-time/full-time on writing- it ain't that kind of job.

Anyway, for anyone who is considering free-lancing for a paycheck, here are a few things I've learned.

1. Make sure you have a very specific field of knowledge and experience.  You don't have to know everything, just enough to know when help is needed.

2. Have a stable of experts in your field who will be willing to provide information.

3. Get in touch with an editor of the publication you are interested in writing for and talk with her/him. Find out what word count, what format, what due dates, what kind/how many photos are needed for the particular publication. Each magazine is different, and each will have specific requirements.

4. Get an assignment and do it well and get it in on time!  If you solve a problem for the editor, you will get more work.

5. Don't expect to get rich. It probably won't happen.