Content starts here
CLOSE ×

Search

Periodic Contributor

going to grad school after age 50

Anyone else out there thinking this is the beginning, not the end? I'm researching grad school and dreaming about a new and fulfilling encore career. I'd like to hear your experiences. Did you do an in-person or an online program? Were you accepted by the other students even though you were older? What were the rewards and the challenges?

AllNaturalEverything
Recognized Social Butterfly

(3/23/24) @msgchuck , did you return to school? 🤔

[***  @msgchuck wrote:

I completed a bachelor degree online in March 2015 when I was still 60 years old. It took me 3 years attending classes online part-time and I accumulated $26,000 of student loan debt. But I actually enjoyed going to school and I was able to graduate summa cumme laude. When attending classes online there is still some student interaction. I believe it was a history class when I posted an answer to a question that I remembered when it happened because I was around and several students commented that it was nice to have someone in the class that was around at that time and could relate from their personal experiences. Now at 61 I have been thinking about an starting a Masters Program but I don't want the extra debt.  ***]

Kudos
Views
0 Kudos
Contributor

I received my doctorate at age 58. I have connections with all generations. It was a lot of hard work, very worthwhile, and inspirational. Do not let age be a barrier. I have reimagined myself in yet another career at age 63. Like Nike, just do it!!
Contributor