Content starts here
CLOSE ×

Search

Contributor

Looking for help/advice

I’m hoping that someone out there can help me or point me in the right direction to find help. Essentially, I haven’t worked full time since the end of 2014. I was a graphic designer/production artist for an advertising agency in Atlanta until medical issues that culminated in surgery caused me to miss a great deal of work. Now I’m 62 and the market isn’t falling all over itself to hire someone my age for a creative position. However, I still want and need to work.

My issue is that I’ve seen and worked with coaches and counselors etc. with the goal of finding a new direction that my skill set compliments. Also, some assistance finding a job once that direction has been determined. Unfortunately, every person I’ve worked with has ignored my goals and focused entirely on finding a position in the graphic arts. In 2016 alone, I applied for over 300 jobs and got three interviews and no offers. I’m pretty sure that ship has sailed.

So, if anyone out there has any suggestions, advice, or any thing else, I’d really appreciate hearing from you. At this point I’ve exhausted my contacts and my resources and the void that’s left behind is becoming overwhelming. I need someone to help me determine what I should do and assist me in pursuing that goal. If you’ve been through a similar suggestion, please let me know how you got out of it.

0 Kudos
Retired Community Manager

Hi, @WilliamS809898, AARP is hosting an upcoming online career expo that may be of interest to you. This a free event that can help you stay relevant in the changing job market. Our Online Career Expo is a three‑hour, come‑and‑go event where you can get advice on resume writing, learn from a career coach, hear from featured employers, or explore helpful resources, career chats, and sessions on remote work, jobs in demand, improving skills and more. Here are the details: 

Staying Competitive and Relevant for What’s Next