Medicare open enrollment has begun! Learn all about it in AARP's guide to Medicare made easy.

Frequent Social Butterfly
Kudos
Views

Re: Age Discrimination in Job Search and the Workplace

Message 1 of 164

@JanD8627, I do not fill out job applications that ask illegal questions.  I do report them.  I lie over the phone.  If they try to take me to court over lying they will lose and I think I will get a settlement.  Just making trouble and making them pay for it all is good enough for me. 

If they get a bad reputation with the labor board that will hurt them down the road.

Report Inappropriate Content
Kudos
Views
Info Seeker
Kudos
Views

Message 2 of 164

Everytime I go online to a job search site to fill out a job application they ask me what year I graduated from High School and my year is not an option! Lately I've been getting calls from so called Employment agencies they ask me the same question, get the answer and then HANG UP!

Kudos
Views
Kudos
Views

Message 3 of 164

Well, Mercy sounds smarter than a shister corp.  They will lose if any case goes to court and that gives them a strike with the labor board. That is very stupid. If the labor board thinks your company is apt to do wong doing you can lose cases without even going to court. That is what you need to prevent.

It they require you to put thant information in a job application, I don't applay and report them to Equal Opportunity. They never did anything about any of those companies since I saw the form again after a few years and it had not changed.