Content starts here
CLOSE ×

Search

Why so few veterans in congress?

Community Manager
Community Manager

Why so few veterans in congress?

Did you know that after the end of the military draft 40 years ago and the gradual retirement and passing away of the World War II generation have contributed to a record low of 17 veterans in the 100-member U.S. Senate.

In the House of Representatives the total of 85 veterans – out of 435 members – is also the lowest since World War II.

Why do you think there are so few veterans in congress?

AARP Blog on this topic:  

http://blog.aarp.org/2013/11/08/why-so-few-veterans-in-congress/

AARPTeri
Regular Contributor

Our most recent Congress ....

https://www.militarytimes.com/news/pentagon-congress/2018/11/21/veterans-in-the-116th-congress-by-th...

As a veteran I used to think that in order to get elected you had to raise so much money in order to beat the career polititian and in order to do that had to accept help from people wanting favors in which still tied your hands from your ideals going in to a political office to make things better. So to me I believe it isn't that Veterans don't want to serve but as Veterans our ideals can't be boughtas easily and that seems to be the way things have to be done in order to get elected these days. For the most part and of course there are exceptions to every rule and perception as I make no claim that any Veteran currently holding office (or in the past) was bought and will not maintain their ideals and values of a military Veteran regardless of the branch they served.