Driving cross country to Ca alone

I will be driving north to Ca from NJ as a single woman alone.....Has anyone done this trip?....Does anyone have suggestions?

I'm a driver B.....and find driving very therapeutic.......Have done Fl numerous times....This will be my 1st cross country alone....hoping to meet up with people along the way......

fran

0 Kudos
Contributor

Do you know when you want to leave?  Will you be doing a round trip or staying in CA for awhile?  What kind of vehicle do you have?  What kind of gas mileage does it get?  Do you have particular places that you want to stay overnight?  I have lots of questions but not a lot of answers at this point except to say that I wouldn't drive my car and might  be interested in exploring sharing renting

an Escape Camper, but I think you have to reserve it pretty soon to get one for any time this summer or fall. 

0 Kudos

In Response to RE: Driving cross country to Ca alone by reontheroad

That sounds like a great trip!  I would love to do that someday but I'm not sure I'd have the nerve to take off on my own.  I still have a problem just going into a restaurant by myself!  After being married 42 years becoming a widow is a huge adjustment to make.  I'm still working full time but maybe by the time I retire I'll take off to parts unknown by myself! 

0 Kudos

In Response to RE: Driving cross country to Ca alone by Niobe

Thanks, the website didn't indicate that or maybe I missed it!

Have a great day,

Donna M

0 Kudos

Hi  I signed up to follow your blog.  Almost every year until I was 17, our family drove from St Louis to Seattle, and I am quite familiar with the routes you plan to take.  Since I can't be with you in your Jeep, I will follow you in spirit.  I'm very glad you have others going with you, especially across the desert, and hope you get more going across the plains.   

0 Kudos

In Response to RE: Driving cross country to Ca alone by gramdjm