Content starts here
CLOSE ×

Search

Widow benefits - effective date with income before that.

Widow benefits - effective date with income before that.

Hello, before I call SS directly, was hoping someone here has some input.  My husband died suddenly 9 months ago at 49, I'm 40 with 2 girls, ages 12 and 6.  They are getting survivor benefits monthly and I'm entitled to receive widow benefits while they are minors.  I currently work as a nurse and would normally make well over the $18,000 income limit, so not eligible to receive the benefits.

At this point, I can no longer keep my N-ICU nursing job, as I will not have help with caring for my girls (my mom has been living with us helping out since my husband's death, but she and my dad live 1000 miles away and she cannot stay here forever).  We would like to move to be close to them, which means I have to give up my job.  They also have other commitments/work that they have put on hold the last year until we can get settled, so I can't count on them to always be available, even if we live closer.

SS had told me when he died that I would qualify for benefits if I'm not working, but my main question is would the income I am receiving so far in 2021 be counted against me if I start taking benefits, for example, starting in June?  Or does the income limit become effective the date I start rec'g benefits?  If my current income is counted against me, I would have to quit my job by end of March to not go over  the $18,000 limit.   Once I am settled, I would like to get a per diem job in the same field that allows me to control how much I work to stay under the income limit, and allow me to be available for my girls and their activities.   But that would only work if the income before rec'g benefits is not counted against me.

Physically, my doctor has told me I can no longer work  full-time anyway at a physically demanding due job to a degenerative spine, but it's not enough to qualify me for disability at my age.