The AARP Movies for Grownups Awards premieres tonight on many PBS stations. Watch at 9 p.m. ET.

Info Seeker
Kudos
Views

Re: When are you planning to take Social Security?

Message 41 of 93

I would wait until 70, too, if I was in a job I loved. I'm not so, at nearly 64, I'm just hanging on for as long as I can, hopefully to 65, but that's questionable if the job remains the same. I am concerned, since SS will be about 3/4 of my income in retirement, with a bit more stashed in a 401K for rainy days. How feasible is it to make it on about $24000 in retirement, if you have no travel plans and a fairly frugal nature?

Report Inappropriate Content
Kudos
Views
Conversationalist
Kudos
Views

Message 42 of 93

I STARTED 6 YEARS AGO.

Kudos
Views
Info Seeker
Kudos
Views

Message 43 of 93
Already receiving social. security
Kudos
Views
Gold Conversationalist
Kudos
Views

Message 44 of 93

Due to circumstances beyond my control, I have been drawing SSDI benefits since 1988, with a lapse between June, 2006 and August 2007. The program is well worth the efforts we make to keep up with the eligibility qualifications, but it is no easy street plan. Quality assurance in healthcare, facilities, transportation, and education are a major headache for responsible parties, when the periphrerals are not actually part of the basic Social Security Disability Income program, but are Social Security programs, in ideological research (Workers Compensation, Unemployment Insurance, Medicare, Medicaid, SSI, SNAP, to name a few, are programs that many are taking for granted). I am an example, however, of regular monthly checks for 24 years, except for a brief neurosurgery episode in a fraud problem.

Kudos
Views
Valued Social Butterfly
Kudos
Views

Message 45 of 93
Already have
Kudos
Views
Highlighted
Info Seeker
Kudos
Views

Message 46 of 93