Content starts here
CLOSE ×

Search

Contributor

Surviving Divorced Spouse benefit

Hello.  I am 65.  My ex husband passed away in August of last year.  We were married for 20 years, we have been divorced for 25 years.  Neither he or I got remarried.  

His social security benefit is greater than mine.  I have been collecting for 2 years, I don't know if that matters.

I am reading about the surviving divorced spouse benefit.  Am I entitled to his full benefit amount for the rest of my life since it is more than mine, and I am of retirement age?  

Also if this is true, I wonder if they will backdate payments from  his date of death. 

I appreciate help with this.  I am getting confused reading about the different spouse benefits.  I keep trying to call the social security office but never get through.

0 Kudos

Yes you are entitled to his full benefits. The rule is you have to be married 10 years, so you qualify. You will have to make an appointment to go to the SS office. You must bring your marriage certificate and your divorce decree. I do believe that all the criteria are on line, but, yes you should apply.
0 Kudos
Periodic Contributor

Surviving divorce: I know quite a few people who added it up one way and down the other for their current and short-term future circumstances, as to whether they felt they could live OK after divorced. Only to have unplanned events such as a layoff and not be able to obtain another well-paying job, then lose almost everything they have. Now, I understand that getting divorced can have very good reasons, but it is important to realize that your current situation you are 'banking on,' can change dramatically and unexpectedly. 

Due to CODIV-19, off from work  it's going to be a month, hopefully no longer than that.

0 Kudos

Same here
0 Kudos

I had to work to pay bills, for while was unable to find a job due to my age.

Thanks to God gave me job

0 Kudos
Periodic Contributor