Content starts here
CLOSE ×

Search

Periodic Contributor

Social Security and Federal Taxes

I'm new at collecting Social Security. I just found out the hard way that if you also have a pension and collect social security you not only will owe taxes on a portion of your Social Security but will also have to pay a penalty on top of it because they don't hold back federal taxes on your benefit each month. That's crazy anyway because now I have to pay tax on the tax they took out for 45 years. 

0 Kudos
Honored Social Butterfly

@te1271 

Welcome to a taxpaying retiree -

Just think of it as paying taxes on that portion of those working year contributions which your employer paid.  😉  😉

Don't worry, the taxes you pay on your Social Security benefit goes back into the SS Trust Fund to help keep it afloat and for you to keep getting your benefit; so think of it, at the time being, just a re-circulating of your money.  😉

@fffredis right (see the link he gave to IRS Tax Topic 306 ) - the IRS does gives some special circumstances on the penalty, if you qualify.

• You retired (after reaching age 62) or became disabled during the tax year or in the preceding tax year for which you should have made estimated payments, and the underpayment was due to reasonable cause and not willful neglect.

" I didn't know" seems to be the great American go-to reason.

• Generally, most taxpayers will avoid this penalty if they either owe less than $1,000 in tax after subtracting their withholding and refundable credits, or if they paid withholding and estimated tax of at least 90% of the tax for the current year or 100% of the tax shown on the return for the prior year, whichever is smaller.

Welcome again to Retirement - now what else might have been overlooked???  Don't want you to have to learn anything else the hard-way - that's a bummer.

It's Always Something . . . . Roseanna Roseannadanna
0 Kudos
Gold Conversationalist

@te1271 

Ouch!