Content starts here
CLOSE ×

Search

Not enough SS credits. Am I able to collect under spouses work record?

Contributor

Not enough SS credits. Am I able to collect under spouses work record?

I am 66, retired, and only have 38 credits/quarters, so I am 2 short. Apparently one of my employers from the 1970's never reported my earnings and my 30 year career as a firefighter I didn't pay into SS (only into pension fund)

I have an ex spouse, we were married 28 years (she is 64) and a current spouse, married 10 years. She is 57 and currently collecting SS disability. 

I can't seem to find any info on how to apply for SS using spouses work record. I really don't care how much I would get. I'd just like to to cover the Medicare Part B monthly payment that I pay out of pocket.

I've had people tell me that since I have been married 10+ years to my current spouse, that I should be able to get something, but searching online hasn't really shown me anything definitive 

0 Kudos
Bronze Conversationalist