Content starts here
CLOSE ×

Search

Retiring by water in a liberal community

Regular Contributor

Retiring by water in a liberal community

I'm a writer and will never retire, but I do want to move.

I've been in Iowa -- hometown Chicago!-- way too long.

Unfortunately I can't afford Chicago.

I don't golf, I'm not a chatter-er, I'd  keep writing,I'd like something small, by water, preferaby an ocean, have a dog -- with a liberal environment.

I'd need cultural and artistic events, spontaneous or planned, and I mean this with no disrespect, but driving around in a golf cart just does not fit me. I  visited my mother in Sun City **bleep** quite a few times,and it was fun --like being on vacation. But I ned somethingto wke up for. As in y career.

I suppose CA would be the best bet --the liberal side anyway, the ocean, but I'm afraid I can't affford it.

FL would be next - but I don't want to be caught up in a Conservtive state of mind.

I've thiought of North Carolina, apparently there's a liberal triad with three colleges that would suit me fine.

I haven't the idea of cost.

I'd love the East --but I'm not sure I want the winters.

I'm single, female,and would appreciate places where I could get to kow people.

I've tried asking this bfore -- if it runs by someone in charge of something at ARP, would you please let me me know where to ask these questions properly? That has beena large weakness for me in AARP.

I do have two children, and they're the only things keeping me from retiring to Ireland. Linberal, cultural, gorgeous, most places on the ocean.

0 Kudos
Honored Social Butterfly