Content starts here
CLOSE ×

Search

Michigan Took My Mother's IRA as Unclaimed Property

Contributor

Michigan Took My Mother's IRA as Unclaimed Property

I'm a 58yo attorney and my mother will be 80 this year. I live several states away and she seems to be doing OK. HOWEVER, in 2018 her IRA custodian turned over one of her IRAs to the State of Michigan as "unclaimed property"!

This happened despite her never having moved and her having her required minimum distribution checks direct deposited to her bank!

Now I'm looking into this and the custodian says Michigan requires this outcome since she didn't write or call in response to the warning notice they sent her. Obviously, that's something I'm looking at. 

I'm posting here to alert others to this possibility in Michigan (and other states) and in hopes this is an issue that AARP takes up. The IRS position is that turning her IRA over to Michigan is a taxable distribution to her! OUCH!

It seems to me that federal law ought to bar this escheatment if there are direct deposits. This is a very harsh outcome for a senior. Apparently, another way she could have avoided this is by having checks sent to her to deposit rather than using direct deposit. Does that make any sense!?

Honored Social Butterfly

@tn8269 

You said:

HOWEVER, in 2018 her IRA custodian turned over one of her IRAs to the State of Michigan as "unclaimed property"!

The part that I have highlighted in red is very important -

IF she was getting RMDs - WAS SHE INCLUDING THIS PARTICULAR IRA INTO THE CALCULATIONS OF THE RMD?    MAYBE SHE WASN'T.

How should I take my RMDs if I have multiple accounts?

If you have more than one IRA, you must calculate the RMD for each IRA separately each year. However, you may aggregate your RMD amounts for all of your IRAs and withdraw the total from one IRA or a portion from each of your IRAs. You do not have to take a separate RMD from each IRA.