Boycotts, Movements and Marches: Relive Some of the Events That Led To Change During the Civil Rights Movement. Read More

Bronze Conversationalist

Re: Career to Retirement: How Social Relationships & Life will affect you

Message 1 of 8

As a physician, I had planned my retirement well in advance. We saved a lot (Being very frugal helps) right from the beginning. The help of a financial adviser helps a lot in making intelligent decisions. Hence it is very important everyone thinks of this when they are young and able to save.

Once the date of retirement was set, we decided to move to another state with rich culture and diversity. This helped to have a whole lot more friends and ability to visit them and interact in various activities. Even though I was "retired"(for all technical purposes) I continued to maintain my license. Hence I was sought after to do locum work at various clinics and offices. This gave me some income time to time. I also decided to donate my time to a local Free clinic which helped the under and uninsured patients (yes, despite we are a very "rich" country, we have a lot of people who have no health insurance like many Western countries). Due to my years of service and exposure to medicine, I was appointed to several organisations as an adviser. I never regretted retiring when I did.

Now we started looking into traveling to various countries and spend quality time together.

It is very important that after retirement, one needs to look back to the savings and make sure you are not outliving the savings. Keep the expenses low and make sure the investment is diversified. Our financial advisor (vice president of one of the largest financial intitutions in the USA) has been very kind and cooperative in talking to us directly whenever we called his office and spend time to explain all the investments and its returns.

Report Inappropriate Content
Info Seeker

Message 2 of 8

Trusted Social Butterfly

Message 3 of 8