Learn how to spot and avoid common scams with AARP's Fraud Resource Center. Try it today!

Treasured Social Butterfly
Kudos
Views

Re: What Are You Looking Forward to This Year?

Message 1 of 9

@retiredtraveler - A new post here resulted in re-reading your post of mid-April! I wish that systems being on line did make everything easier .. but sometimes it doesn't! When I began to file for Medicare, it asks if you're retired & the date you stopped working. Then it asks if you're currently covered with medical insurance thru your current employer or a spouse. So if you're retired, but are covered under your former employer, there's no way to enter that! And you can't say it's your current employer, because you've entered a date you stopped working! I had to call them, and they said they're "trying to get the website fixed", had me enter wrong information, then explain it in a free-form field on the next screen!

I've been paying taxes so they know my age since 1973 .. but it takes them 2+ months now to verify that I'll be 65 in August, and that I'm entitled to Medicare?!

Registered on Online Community since 2007!
Report Inappropriate Content
Kudos
Views
Gold Conversationalist
Kudos
Views

Message 2 of 9
The end. Of the year, that is. Then, only one more 'til I retire.
Kudos
Views
Trusted Social Butterfly
Kudos
Views

Message 3 of 9

"...I'll be turning 65 at the end of the summer .. meaning starting to collect my pension, and changing over to Medicare .. ugh to the bureaucracy! I retired at 50, so I have a lot of practice at being retired, and used to the medical coverage I have now....".

Yup!  At least we can do most things online now and not have to be on hold for 30 minutes trying to deal with customer service. Medicare sign-up and supplement was far simpler than I expected (after posting a couple of questions on this forum). I assume your pension sign-up will be simple too.