From festivals to better food, amusement parks are adding features for older adults. Take a look at what's new!

Info Seeker
Kudos
Views

Re: Peer Pressure - did it make or mar your future?

Message 1 of 24

I didn't feel that I had any peer pressure because I attended  a small school  that I graduated from in 1972.  I was extremely fortunate to be in that school.  We had around 70 kids in each grade in our school and I never felt that I was under any peer pressure.  We are so lucky.  My classmates are all still close even though it is almost 50 years later - and we talk often on Facebook.  

Report Inappropriate Content
Kudos
Views
Conversationalist
Kudos
Views

Message 2 of 24

I don't know. There are very good people out there. It takes courage to put yourself out there and there are more losses than wins but occasionally you meet someone who gets you. Then its all worthwhile.

Kudos
Views
Conversationalist
Kudos
Views

Message 3 of 24

Your not getting this. Its not caregiver burnout. This when a friend takes advantage. They really know better but don't think enough of you to reciprocate.   

Kudos
Views
Conversationalist
Kudos
Views

Message 4 of 24

Yes I understand. It is when something really bad happens in your own life and the other person (your supposed friend) does not recognize that it might be their turn to step up and offer some kindness or support- that you realize the relationship is one sided and you are the designated door mat. I should have understood this. Maybe it's having good people skills and boundaries that allows a person to correctly sizr things up before you invest too much time.  

Kudos
Views
Conversationalist
Kudos
Views

Message 5 of 24