Rethink your job search and find opportunities for experienced workers with AARP’s job board.

Conversationalist
Kudos
Views
Replies

Not your classic Christmas story...

Message 1 of 1

Not your classic Christmas story...

I listen intently as humming and whirring downgrade to a straining echo grinding out from the rattling walls of my computer – the signature sounds of mechanical failure. Then, ghosty fingers typing in ghoulish block letters across my computer screen

Your PC did not start correctly

Resetting your PC

These last words flashing weakly across my monitor before it loses its battery-powered metallic-luster, and is operational – NO MORE.

Trying to remain calm, but with a numbing dread, I anticipate the worst case scenario. I am a writer, and this machine is an extension of who I am. The hard drive of this computer holds my soul-searching poetry, and collection of fictional stories with happy endings, that I have scripted for the Hallmark movie channel.

Breathe, I tell myself.

Inhale.

Exhale.

Concentrate.

Now teary-eyed and feeling like Mrs. Claus without her oven mitt, or Santa without his sleigh bells, I slump despairingly at my desk. In two days it will be Christmas, and I am without a computer. Bah. Humbug. A terrible time to be computer shopping, with the long lines of short-tempered shoppers and the holiday crush of enormously bulked-up shopping carts at the big box stores; not to mention the bee hive of activity at the smaller shops.

Within the hour, I am experiencing symptoms of electronic withdrawal.

This isn't my first computer crash. Sadly, a year and a half ago, my computer had been hacked. Fortunately, it was my original heartfelt poetry which filled the brains of the computer. Not all bad, I thought, finally, someone (the hackers) would be reading my poems.