Medicare open enrollment has begun! Learn all about it in AARP's guide to Medicare made easy.

Respected Social Butterfly
Kudos
Views

Re: New To Being Old

Message 11 of 17

Hi, I'm new, too.  Still trying to figure out the message boards.  Smiley Happy  

I'm in Maryland, near DC.  Nice to meet you all.  

Report Inappropriate Content
Kudos
Views
Info Seeker
Kudos
Views

Message 12 of 17

Newbie here.   Joined just a few days ago after I turned 50. I'm learning where everthing is on this website and trying to read about everything it offers.  Any help and guidance is welcome!  Happy New year everyone!

Kudos
Views
Info Seeker
Kudos
Views

Message 13 of 17

I am also a newbie here and have no real clue where to look or what to look for regarding whatever benefits I may get by joining up with AARP. All paid up for a year now, so I look forward to hearing from others about what they have learned regarding what we as newbies are supposed to be doing and what to do around here.

Any practical advice will be gladly accepted!

Kudos
Views
Info Seeker
Kudos
Views

Message 14 of 17

Hi Donna,

I'm Michael from Columbus, Ohio.  Like you, Henry and Soosie, I'm new to being old as well.  Just turned 65, had a heart attack back in April and I'm now having to understand that I can't do the stuff I was physically capable of (I'm still mentally in my 20's), just a few months (years) ago. 

Take advantage of the Senior discounts, you have earned them. I recently asked for and received a disability placard for my car and I don't always use the parking spaces reserved, but when I do I appreciate that they are there.