Find answers to your Social Security questions in the AARP Social Security resource center.

Frequent Social Butterfly
Kudos
Views

Re: How Does One Grow Older Gracefully? What Does It Mean To Grow Older Gracefully?

Message 1 of 8

Stop dwelling on age as a number, and just be yourself.  Do what you want to do, and don't let age be a factor.  Don't try to imitate what kids or anyone else does to make yourself look or feel younger.  At age 78 I earned my PhD.  I still run - not as long or fast as I did when I started running 37 years ago, but I run at my pace, and swim like a fish.  Yes, an older fish, but enjoying myself.  I dress comfortably - not imitating other generations, but how I feel is appropriate and comfortable for each particular situation - for ME.  I don't look in magazines to see how I "should" look and dress or act.  I'm an individual and feel that I'm aging and acting appropriately for ME and not trying to fit into any mold or definition of what an 79 year old woman should do.  I remember my mother always said for me to "act my age".   Well, I do act my age, but I define how I should act.  I haven't been arrested yet!!

Report Inappropriate Content
Kudos
Views
Info Seeker
Kudos
Views

Re: How Does One Grow Older Gracefully? What Does It Mean To Grow Older Gracefully?

Message 2 of 8

I am 66 years young.  I'm retired from the Active Army/Army Reserve, Federal Government, drawing my full social security and still working for a Stage agency as a Career Consultant.  I'm fortunate enough to be working at a job I mostly love.  I have this thought about what I do - 5pm rolls around and I'm headed out.  I know I've made a positive difference in at least one person's life today.  This gratification helps keep me focused and thinking ahead.  Yes, I do realize there's negativity out there, but I try to keep a smile on my face the whole time.  We use to say way back when these words, which are still true - Life is a garden - dig it!!

Kudos
Views